Return to Headlines

CVC Girls' and Boys' Basketball Coaches Resume End of Season Banquet - Five Boys and Four Girl Players Make the List!

Just had to share:


The Trentonian High School Sports:  CVC basketball coaches return to Mercer Oaks to honor their best from 2022-23


March 14, 2023 Trentonian article link:


CVC basketball coaches return to Mercer Oaks to honor their best from 2022-23


Unsupported image type.

Ewing’s Rhian Stokes and Trenton’s Davontay Hutson have been named the Players of the Year by the CVC Coaches.


By RED BIRCH | | The Trentonian

PUBLISHED: March 14, 2023 at 5:54 p.m. | UPDATED: March 14, 2023 at 10:13 p.m.


WEST WINDSOR – After two years away because of coronavirus pandemic concerns, the Colonial Valley Conference girls’ and boys’ basketball coaches were finally able to resume their traditional, end-of-season banquet at Mercer Oaks Monday night.

Hard to believe, but only one player on Monday’s docket had also been part of the 2020 banquet, when it was last held just before the official COVID shutdown, according to CVC Basketball Association President Kristin Jacobs, the night’s emcee.

That being said, 48 players, two coaches, one manager and one referee were held in high esteem, while they, the rest of the league’s coaches, family members and a few friends were treated to the best Jim Hines’ Mercer Oaks staff has to offer.

The 13th annual CVC Basketball Association banquet honored the Mercer County league’s standouts from 2022-23, highlighted by the fine seasons turned in by the Trenton and Nottingham High boys’ teams, as well as Ewing’s boys’ and girls’ squads.

The Tornadoes set a school record for victories, going 29-2 and winning the Mercer County Tournament, on the way to capturing the Central Jersey Group IV crown under the tutelage of Coach of the Year Darryl Young. Two Trenton standouts, Antwan Bridgett and Player of the Year Davontay Hutson, reached 1,000 points this season and were joined on the coaches’ first team by teammate Chris Wilson. The Tornadoes’ Kabrien Goss was named to second team.

The Northstars surprised some by going 22-9, winning a sectional title and advancing to the Group III state final behind second-team selections J.P. Dickerson and Dom Raymond.

Head coach Chris Raba’s Nottingham club knocked off top-seeded Ewing (23-5) at Emil Wandishin Gymnasium in the Central Jersey Group III final. Head coach Shelly Dearden had two players on Monday’s first team in Kenny Rankin and Darnelle Forrest (along with second-teamer Naire Preston), while West Windsor-Plainsboro South’s Ben Jaclin and Notre Dame’s Stesher Mathelier rounded out the first team picks.

While the Blue Devils came up a little short on the boys’ side, their girls’ team had a record-setting season, posting a school-best 30-3 mark, while winning its second straight MCT crown, its second straight Central Jersey Group III trophy and its second overall Group III state title. The junior trio of Player of the Year Rhian Stokes, Joi Johnson and Te’Yala Delfosse reached 1,000 points during that championship run.

The Ewing girls were joined on first team by 23-7 Hightstown’s Kyla Glasser-Hyman (the lone player back from the 2020 banquet) and Abby Misier, 17-10 Notre Dame’s Angelina Banas, plus Allentown’s Kayla McCrea and her head coach, Dana Wells, who was chosen as Coach of the Year after helping the Redbirds go 19-6.

Jacobs and her fellow coaches also took the time to herald Abe Johnson as their Official of the Year and Ewing boys’ team manager D.J. Haynes as the Christian Somma Courage Award recipient.

The recent passing of former WW-P North girls’ basketball (and baseball) coach Bob Boyce was also announced, along with plans to add a new award and scholarship in his memory beginning next season. It will be known as the Competitive Spirit Award, which, to honor Coach Boyce’s values, will go to a senior student-athlete who has displayed true grit, tenacity and toughness over the course of their career; who plays with a competitive edge that elevates their teammates; who cares about them and always has their backs.

As festivities wound down, the 2023 inductees into the Mercer County Basketball Hall of Fame, which will take place Sunday, April 16 back at Mercer Oaks, were also announced. This year’s nine-member class is Ray Clark, Denise Craig, Don Hess, Mincy Manczak, Bridgette Mitchell, Sandra Oropel, John Simone, La’Keisha Sutton and Connie White.

Here is a look at all of the 2022-23 Coaches’ All-CVC Basketball picks:


First Team

Rhian Stokes,  Joi Johnson, Te’Yala Delfosse (Ewing); Kyla Glasser-Hyman, Abby Misier (Hightstown); Angelina Banas (Notre Dame); Kayla McCrea (Allentown).

Second Team

Ashley Adamson (Steinert); Ava Aldarelli (Robbinsville); SondJane Daudin (Trenton); Kennedy Havens (Hopewell Valley); Caitlin Landgraf (Allentown); Simone Pintinalli (Notre Dame).

Third Team

Shawnae Biggs (Ewing); Jules Lynch (Notre Dame); Gillian Magner (Hopewell Valley); Molly McCrea (Allentown); Saniya Spencer (Trenton); Kylie Vandenberg (WW-P North); Anna Winters (Princeton).

Honorable Mention

Maia Coyle (Lawrence); Katie Hsiao (WW-P South); Brielle Maigue (Hamilton West); Emma Wilke (Nottingham).

Player of the Year – Rhian Stokes (Ewing).


Coach of the Year – Dana Wells (Allentown).



First Team

Antwan Bridgett,  Chris Wilson, Davontay Hutson (Trenton); Kenny Rankin, Darnelle Forrest (Ewing); Ben Jaclin (WW-P South); Stesher Mathelier (Notre Dame).

Second Team

Tyler Handy (Robbinsville); Naire Preston (Ewing); Robert Eaves (Hightstown); Kabrien Goss (Trenton); Dom Raymond, J.P. Dickerson (Nottingham).

Third Team

Brandon Ford (Lawrence); John Michael Vlasac (Hopewell Valley); Ray Gooley (Allentown); Donovan Cottrell, Chris Vlahos (Notre Dame); Evan Bunnell (Robbinsville).

Honorable Mention

Robert Rossi (WW-P North); Avery Cannato (Steinert); Jihad Wilder (Princeton); Grady Griffin (Ewing); Brazil Fields (Trenton).

Player of the Year – Davontay Hutson (Trenton).


Coach of the Year – Darryl Young (Trenton).


Chris Somma Courage Award – D.J. Haynes (Ewing).


Official of the Year – Abe Johnson.



Christian Daniel Somma, passed away in May 2007 at the age of 16 years old. Born in Freehold, Christian spent his younger years in East Windsor before moving to Hamilton at the age of 9. Chris was an honor roll sophomore student at Hamilton High School West and a dedicated member of both the JV and Varsity Hornet basketball team. In addition, Chris was a team member of the AAU basketball league, Hamilton PAL basketball league, Hamilton Little Lads basketball league and also the Hamilton YMCA basketball league. Chris battled terminal metastatic colon cancer for two years before his passing


Congratulations to our Ewing High School basketball student-athletes!