Return to Headlines

EHS Students Complete The Early College Experience at TCNJ

Jade SmithEwing High School Senior Jade Smith College Keynote Student Speaker

This summer, ten Ewing High School students completed The Early College Experience at The College of New Jersey (TCNJ)! This experience included a readiness-building writing course and an array of social and emotional and academic learning activities, culminating in original action research completed by each EHS student. Research inquiries included exploration into sociocultural identity, issues of racism, the dynamics of the immigration experience and much more. EHS teacher, Mrs. Kelly Hammer, and school counselor Mrs. Leena Fadel were instrumental in the recruitment and implementation of this program, a partnership between the Carver Foundation, the Ewing Public Schools, and The College of New Jersey.

The summer experience culminated with rising EHS senior, Jade Smith, delivering an eloquent and inspirational speech as TCNJ’s early college keynote student speaker. Jade shared how meaningful the summer experience was, as friendships were developed and strengthened within the EHS OMIC cohort, and across the other schools’ student participants from Trenton Central High School, Willingboro High School and Foundation Academy. Moreover, from this experience, students have earned tuition-free credits on their college transcript for the course they took this summer!


As exciting as the summer was, the program does not stop there! This year, these students are slated for an additional college course, co-taught by our faculty members, Mrs. Amy Stevens and Dr. Joanna Papdopoulous, and TCNJ faculty members specializing in the areas of Engineering Design and Digital Media, respectively. Notably, these courses are also tuition-free, college-level courses that will count as general education courses, whether these students attend TCNJ or another college. Our Ewing High School summer participants are: Zy’Yonnah Dully, Quincy Grant, Jayla Green, Shontice Hendryx, Reego John-Annaselvan, Kennedy Jones, Wael Majdoul, Aryanna Morales, Jade Smith, and Sanaa Wesley.