Return to Headlines

Congratulations to Ewing Drama’s Jayden White!  

Immediate Release

June 8, 2022

The first ever Ewing student to receive a Paper Mill Playhouse, Rising Star Award! 

On June 6th, Ewing High School juniors Jayden White and Maddie Marsola attended the Paper Mill Playhouse’s Rising Star Awards with their families, their director, Christina Monaco Caldwell and their music director, Alexander Minter.  The Rising Star Awards are deemed the Tony’s for New Jersey high schools. In March, the cast, crew and pit of The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee were adjudicated on three different performances by Paper Mill Playhouse judges. 

M. MarsolaMaddie Marsola was nominated for Outstanding Supporting Performer in a Female-Identified Role as “Rona Lisa Peretti”, for The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Jayden White

Jayden White was nominated and honored as the Outstanding Supporting Performer in a Male-Identified Role as “Chip Tolentino”, for The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.  To see Jayden’s acceptance speech, head to: and skip to the time stamp 1:53!  

White reflects, “I honestly can't believe I've won, this entire experience has been so surreal. Being nominated in our first year of adjudication was already an amazing accomplishment, but this just tops the cake! It's such an honor to have received such a prestigious award and I wouldn't have been able to do it without the assistance and support of my fellow cast members, crew, directors, friends and family. I'm beyond thankful and really overjoyed being able to bring home such an award for all the hard work that we put into our musicals at Ewing High! I'm even more excited for the year to come, and what's in store for our drama program in the future!”

As nominees, Jayden and Maddie both received a 50% scholarship to the Paper Mill Playhouse Summer Musical Theatre Conservatory. 


EHS Drama

Mr. Alexander Minter received an Honorable Mention for Music Direction. 

Ms. Christina Monaco Caldwell received an Honorable Mention for Direction. 

(Not pictured) Mr. Sean Hubert received an Honorable Mention for Costumes.