•                                  Children's Book Awards


    Randolph Caldecott Medal 
    Given to the most distinguished American picture book for children.



    John Newbery Medal


    Given for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


    Coretta Scott King Award


    Established 1969. Designed to commemorate the life and work of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination in continuing to work for peace and world brotherhood. Presented annually to an African American author and an African American illustrator for an outstandingly inspirational and educational contribution.
    Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal


    Honors an author or illustrator whose books are published in the U.S. and have made a substantial contribution to children's literature.
    Pura Belpre Award
    This award is given annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in outstanding books for children and youth.